City Council

SUI 90113 9533 - Comp2.jpg

The City Council consists of a Mayor and five Council Members. While each Council Member is designated by a place number, the City is not divided into districts. Therefore, each Council Member represents the citizenry at large. 


Council Members are elected by plurality, meaning the candidate with the most votes in each place is elected to office. Members of the City Council are elected to two-year terms on alternative years. The Mayor and Council Members Places 3 and 5 are elected during odd numbered years. Council Members Places 1, 2, and 4 are elected during even numbered years.  
 
The City Council meets at City Hall, 12951 Bandera Road, Helotes, Texas 78023, on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month.  Meeting agendas can be found under the "Agendas" tab above.  You may also watch City Council meetings live on Spectrum Cable Channel 21 or recorded on YouTube by clicking on the camera link below. 
 
The current Helotes City Council consists of:

Mayor Pic.jpg

 
Mayor Thomas A. Schoolcraft
tschoolcraft@helotes-tx.gov

 
Mayor Pro Tem Bert Buys
bbuys@helotes-tx.gov
   

Council Member Place 1, Edward Villanueva
evillanueva@helotes-tx.gov
Council Member Place 4, Cynthia Massey
cmassey@helotes-tx.gov
Council Member Place 2, Alex Blue
ablue@helotes-tx.gov
Council Member Place 5, Paul Friedrichs
pfriedrichs@helotes-tx.gov
Council Member Place 3, Bert Buys
bbuys@helotes-tx.gov

 
 

     

Upcoming events

Helotes Area Community Band Holiday Concert Series

Helotes Area Community Band Holiday Concert Series

December 1, 2017 | 18:00 — 21:00 | December 1, 2017.

Click on the link above to learn more about the Helotes Area Community Band Holiday Concert Series.

Lighting of the Lights

Lighting of the Lights

December 1, 2017 | 18:00 — 21:00 | December 1, 2017.

Click on the link above to learn more about the City's Lighting of the Lights event.