City Council

SUI 90113 9533 - Comp2.jpg

The City Council consists of a Mayor and five Council Members. While each Council Member is designated by a place number, the City is not divided into districts. Therefore, each Council Member represents the citizenry at large.
 
Council Members are elected by plurality, meaning the candidate with the most votes in each place is elected to office. Members of the City Council are elected to two-year terms on alternative years. The Mayor and Council Members Places 3 and 5 are elected during odd numbered years. Council Members Places 1, 2, and 4 are elected during even numbered years.  Visit the Elections Page for more information on the next General Election.
 
The City Council meets at City Hall, 12951 Bandera Road, Helotes, Texas 78023, on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month.  Meeting agendas can be found under the "Agendas" tab above.  You may also watch City Council meetings live on Spectrum Cable Channel 21 or recorded on YouTube by clicking on the camera link below. 
 
The current Helotes City Council consists of:

Mayor Pic.jpg

 
Mayor Thomas A. Schoolcraft
Term May 2019 - May 2021
tschoolcraft@helotes-tx.gov


 
 
 
 
 

 
 



Council Member Place 1
Alan Holmes
Term October 2019 - May 2020
aholmes@helotes-tx.gov

 

 
Mayor Pro Tem
Alex Blue
Term May 2018 - May 2020
ablue@helotes-tx.gov


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  



Council Member Place 3
Bert Buys
Term May 2019 - May 2021
bbuys@helotes-tx.gov





 
 
 
  
 

 
Council Member Place 4
Cynthia Massey
Term May 2018 - May 2020
cmassey@helotes-tx.gov 






 
 
 
  
 


 
Council Member Place 5
Paul Friedrichs
Term May 2019 - May 2021
pfriedrichs@helotes-tx.gov








    

Upcoming events

Helotes MarketPlace – July 4

Helotes MarketPlace – July 4

July 4, 2020 | 10:00 — 17:00 | July 4, 2020.

You're invited to the Helotes MarketPlace every first Saturday of the month! Click the link to learn more.

Helotes MarketPlace – August 1

Helotes MarketPlace – August 1

August 1, 2020 | 10:00 — 17:00 | August 1, 2020.

You're invited to the Helotes MarketPlace every first Saturday of the month! Click the link to learn more.